Nikos Kokolakis (1981) (GR) is a composer living in Den Haag (NL).

He studied Physics at the University of Crete and Music Composition 
at the Ionian University in Corfu. He finished his Master studies 
in Composition at The Royal Conservatoire in The Hague with 
Peter Adriaansz, Yannis Kyriakides and Raviv Ganchrow.

His main compositional interest lie in developing an understanding 
of sound as space in sonic structures. His works have been 
performed by various ensembles including New European Ensemble, 
Ives Ensemble and Slagwerk Den Haag. He is an active member of the 
Catchpenny Ensemble, focusing in multimedia and collective 

In 2016 he won the first prize in the Composition Concours within 
the TROMP international percussion competition for his piece Stream 
for Marimba performed by Jonathan Bonny, and in 2015 the second 
prize in the International Carillon Composition Contest in Zwolle 
for his piece Squarcle for Carillon performed by Gijsbert Kok.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s